What Vintage Disease Does to a Person

It has been a little while since you have heard from me, with the combination of summer church schedule and a bug that has gone around our family it has been hard to find time to write. I promise that you will have several new posts to read in the next few week. Along with trying to rest and recuperate from this bug, I have been doing a bit of spring cleaning and have found several vintage Items I have not posted, and even more unfinished art pieces. So stay tuned over the next few weeks you will see (hopefully) the completion of some long awaited artwork as well as some posting of some very beautiful antique and vintage finds!

The title might seem a little unusual, but really it came to mind a few days ago when I went to get my wife some medicine down the street at our local general store. I was still feeling ok, but both my children and my wife were miserable in bed.  When I left the store I noticed an abandoned building had its door open and several cars outside, there was a sign that read, ‘Antique Sale.’ I have been doing vintage and antique selling long enough to know or have a ‘sense’ about stores whether there will be anything worth getting before I even walk through the door. Let’s just say my spidey senses were tingling, but much to my credit I did not stop in for a peek I kept on for home. But you don’t know how strong that urge to stop in really was, and that is how I know that I have the Vintage Disease.

One item that I dug out of my Vintage/Antique surplus to sell on Etsy  was this beautiful Aladdin Lamp

Image

 

This particular piece was a model 6, when I picked it up I Knew as soon as I spotted it that it was a special piece, but I had no idea how old the model six was. This model of one of the most  famous kerosene light dates from between 1914-1917. If you have been reading my blog for long, you will remember that I have had great success with kerosene lamps and lanterns, especially Aladdin and antique Coleman products! This beautiful Aladdin Model 6 I picked up at my local Habitat for Humanity store. This is where a handy tip comes in. Locally owned thrift shops as well as Habitat stores seem to have the best vintage and antique wares at any of the thrift shops.

Another thrift shop find is this beautiful Antique Book The Handy Companion. The copy right on this book of statistics and world customs says 1887 and is signed in the front and back Billy the Kid. Hey, I do not believe it was really signed by the old west outlaw, but what history and stories this book has to share with us?!

Image

 

These are just a couple antique finds that I would not have noticed or appreciated without being addicted to junk and vintage Americana!  Please contact me if you have any questions or if you have specific items you would like me to keep my eyes open for.

Twitter @vintageseven

Instagram @vintageseven1983

Etsy @    dunlopartwork

