Film Noir

 

My wife and I love film and the history that goes with it. We are really looking forward to watching the Bio pic Saving Mr. Banks starring Tom Hanks as Walt Disney and Emma Thompson as the author of Mary Poppins, P.L. Travers.(We missed it in theaters.)  Although I have not cared  for some of the movies that these two actors have made, I can safely say there are not many better character actors than these  two. I am looking forward to seeing this flick and letting you know what I thought.  What makes a great movie? Or more importantly what is your favorite film, and why is it your favorite?

Recently I was consigned  a large collection of black and white as well as some color head shots by some of films greatest and most well known actors:

Robert Mitchum signed Head shot

Robert Mitchum signed Head shot

This Robert Mitchum is in great shape and has just an awesome b/w shoot of him! I like Mitchum, but there were actors and actresses in the collection that were even more recognizable and for whom I have an affinity for because of their work.

Tony Curtis Signed color

Tony Curtis Signed color

My wife and I just watched The Rat Race the other night on Netflix. I was very impressed with the movie and it has a very impressive performance by one Don Rickles (another one of my favorite actors). If you enjoy classic film you will really enjoy this one, I give it four out of five stars! Tony Curtis did many films during this time: movies like The Great Impostor and Some Like It Hot. Curtis had a transcendent film presence much like Cary Grant or todays Johnny Depp or Meryl Streep.

My wife and I love film and the personalities and stories that good behind the scenes with each film and in each actors life. The glamour of the golden age of cinema is something that is sorely lacking in many of todays Hollywood stories. I love glamour poses and the vintage pinups of yesteryear so when I first saw some of the head shots of the leading ladies from the this autograph collection it made me want to go back and watch their films again!

Eleanor Parker

Eleanor Parker

Eleanor Parker had a full film career including The Sound of Music, this picture is so beautiful and inviting!

Dorothy Lamour

Dorothy Lamour

Dorothy Lamour, was in The Greatest Show on Earth with Charlton Heston and one of my favorite actors Jimmy Stewart; she also co starred with Bob Hope in a number of films. The above headshot is signed: “To Ron-Good Luck! Dorothy Lamour. The Story behind this collection is that one of the lighting and sound men in amassed a large collection of signatures from years in film and plays around the world!

Jane Russell

Jane Russell

Jane Russell is another one of the great stars from this collection, she is best known for her role along side Marilyn Monroe In Gentlemen Prefer Blondes. The Collection is much larger than what I have up on my Etsy site, but I am looking forward to adding more head shots in the next few weeks, so stay tuned!

I have several historic items that I am looking forward to blogging about in coming days as well as some film reviews so I will keep you posted. Don’t forget to follow my latest travels and find on twitter @vintageseven and check out our Etsy store.

 

Til Next time

Daniel

 

